Those shoes’ll blow away in a moderate breeze

I’m still going through a consolidation period after London.

I had a lovely 6 mile tempo run in the sun (yes, the sun), yesterday evening. I felt great although my right knee is a bit sore, which reminded me that I should go easy on myself for a while. My summer races are for fun, nothing more (even the South Downs Way 100), so I’ll ease up on the speed training until later in the summer.

I got one one my regular newsletters off The Running Bug today, which included a feature on core strength training. I’d done this fairly regularly until the last month or so before London, then let it drop off as I concentrated on speed and fitted a few races in, all of which made me a bit sore to want to do exercises, and then of course I was tapering (truncating in my case). I get grief in my right gluteus medius (I’m pretty lop-sided), and have found the core training helps with this. This set of exercises from The Running Bug is pretty good: I’ll be mixing them in with my running for fun over the summer.

I’ve also remembered that I was going review my racing shoes after I’d run London in them: I posted a review on Trailspace, a US website I rather like because I read about all the cool gear that you can get on that side of the pond that we don’t even hear about over here. Heck, it’s only about 2 years since Injinjis could be bought from UK shops.

http://www.justgiving.com/excellentlondonmarathon
http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/excellentlondonmarathon

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Those shoes’ll blow away in a moderate breeze

  1. Good review of the Merrells… Are you going to post it on here? (I might have to reblog it at some point…)

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again more about sitios web soon!

  3. Hello. I tried to open that message with the photos on Facebook, but it wouldn’t open. Is there any chance you could email them to me? ethicalathlete at gmail dot com. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

