Merrel Trail Glove Review

Rating: rated 4.5 of 5 stars

Source: bought it used
Price Paid: £50 (‘nearly new’ off eBay)

Summary

A true ‘barefoot’ shoe with a tough sole that is good for trails, provided they’re not too muddy. The very ‘precise’ fit makes them a good shoe for technical trails.

Pros

  • Precise fit
  • Tough sole protects the foot well
  • Wide toe box

Cons

  • Tread is too shallow for muddy trails

The Merrell Trail Glove (TG) is one of the new generation of ‘barefoot’ running shoes. The TG’s cushioning is very minimal, but what makes it a true ‘barefoot’ shoe is that it has no heel-forefoot differential, that is the shoe does not lift the heel relative to the forefoot at all. Standard running shoes have 8-12mm (1/3-1/2 inch) differential, with ‘minimal’ shoes around 4mm.

I bought them in May 2011. I’m a UK-based ultra runner who is used to minimal (but not ‘barefoot’) shoes, ie Brooks Mach Spikeless, Inov8 F-Lite 230, and even I have found the Trail Gloves a huge change! The TGs engage all the leg and core muscles, not just the more limited range normal shoes do, making for a very intense running workout!

The fit, not just the sole is ‘barefoot’. The wide, ergonomic forefoot allows the toes to splay: this is key to getting your feet working fully. The fit is very glove-like, although the upper has no stretch so they can take a bit of putting on, but this is a small price to pay for the very precise feel of the shoe, which makes them good for ‘technical’ trails.

The TG has a shallow tread for a trail shoe, so it makes a pretty good all-rounder, but not suited for muddy conditions.

In August 2011, I did half of the 85-mile Ridgeway Challenge in the TGs, at which point I was happy to change into a more traditional (although still light’n’low) shoe, in big part because it was very wet and slippery, so the shallow tread made it hard to stay stable, and my feet and lower legs had got very tired as a result.

I continue to use them very regularly and in May 2012 ran another ultra trail event on the Ridgeway, the Ridgeway 40 in mostly hard conditions and my feet felt tired at the end, but only in the normal way you would expect for that distance!

The process of getting used to a barefoot shoe like the TG is a pleasure and the reward is simply a more natural running experience. I’m now pretty used to them and enjoy using them as my ‘default’, day-to-day running shoe.

Disclosure: Merrell have recently given me a new pair of Trail Gloves because I post very regularly on their Facebook page. I am a fan of the brand, but I say what I think and I do post some construction criticism. This review was recently updated, but most of it was written before they gave me the new shoes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

