Gosh, has it been that long?

Not much running or training to report on I’m afraid! I’ve been too busy enjoying myself.

My wife, Cath and I had a weekend away (alone!) nearly 2 weeks ago now. Since then, I been really busy doing my tax return and drinking cider as part of my village’s jubilee celebrations (Kington St Michael, as featured on BBC Points West!)

So, back to 2 weeks ago. Cath and I stayed at Sampsons Farm, Preston, Newton Abbott on 25th and 26th May. Check out Sampsons Farm, I’d recommend it for a stay.

On our first day, we parked up near Start Point and walked north up the coast. The sky was clear, but it was surprisingly cold in the keen breeze: I wished I’d worn one of my Buffs, as my ears got a bit achy after a short time in the wind.

By South West Coast Path standards, we didn’t have a lot of ‘up & down’ to do and made fast, easy progress. Our first point of interest was Hallsands ruined village, a fishing village abandoned in the early 20th Century because offshore dredging caused the shingle beach in front of the houses to wash away, removing protection from the waves. The village was damaged over a period of a few years, then much of it was destroyed in 1917.

We had a very pleasant coffee at Britannia @ the Beach at Beesands, a delightful fishmongers, store and seafood bistro.

It was starting to feel a lot warmer by this time, as the breeze had died down somewhat.

I enjoyed the rock formations near Dun Point, and was impressed by Slapton Ley, Devon’s largest natural freshwater lake, which is separated from the sea by a barrow sand bar.

We walked back to the car, then took a further short walk down to Start Point Lighthouse, enjoying some excellent scrambling on the tors the line the top of the ridge of Start Point.

My Merrell Trail Gloves proved to be well suited to scrambling, with good grip and letting me feel the holds!

We liked the look of Britannia so much we walked back to it for our evening meal, which was superb (but not cheap!)

On Sunday, we took a walk up on to Dartmoor from the layby next to the entrance to Wrangaton Golf Club. There’s not much to say about this really: some good views and more decent weather! Oh and we saw a slow worm!

One final note: I should have worn some head cover; I have a full head of hair, but my short hairstyle left me with a bit of sunburn on my scalp!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gosh, has it been that long?

  1. Pingback: Vane Glory (or Ben Vane 1, Prometheus 0) | 3:15 Marathon for Excellent, Pioneers of Sand Dams

Leave a Reply

