Making the most…

Wow, it’s been a while since I posted again.

After the Seaview 17, I was looking forward to a full ‘summer season’ with my family. We had arranged use our friends’ cabin up in Perthshire during the first week in August. One of the ‘attractions’ I was planning to visit up in Scotland was the Glenshee 9 hill race, part of my crazy plan. Unfortunately, that part of my crazy plan wasn’t to be; the race was cancelled because of a low number of pre-entries.

The cabin was bigger than our house, set in a lovely pine wood. Check out my pictures. I made the most of the track through the forest, getting in a little run every morning we were there.

I won’t bore you with a blow-by-blow description of the rest of the holiday. A few headlines and pictures should suffice:

We took a walk up Glen Derby from the cabin.

We climbed the mountains to the west of the Cairnwell Pass. And I snuck in a few few extra summits by going for a run whilst my family headed back to the car!

I had a superb run into the Cairngorms from the Linn of Dee, whilst the rest of my family looked around Braemar Castle.

We canoed on Loch Morlich and climbed the Fiacaill Ridge, near the Cairngorm ski area, a superb scramble. And I snuck in another extra summit with some sly running!

We climbed Ben Vrackie, near Pitlochry.

I had a day out on An Socach, near Glen Shee, with my friend, Richard.

Not bad for a week in a British summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

