The Details in the Devil’s

I ran in the Devil’s Burdens Relay just over a week ago, and I can’t resist a bit of wordplay!

My club, the Lomies (Lomond Hill Runners AAC) fielded 2 teams for this; fast men (the Glums) and men-who-know-better (the Glees). We had some women running with Carnethy Ladies “B” as well, which we decided should be the Glams.

I ran with the Glums, in Leg 1, which is the ‘trail’ leg, following straightforward forest tracks. Legs 2-4 are proper hill runs, with lots of climbing (obviously) and navigational skills called for. I’ve been in slightly dicky health since New Year, hardly running at all, so it was hardly a surprise that I felt sluggish by my standards, but it was still good fun. The Glums finished 13th overall, but I came in 35th at the end of my leg, so I think Jason Drag Anchor Harrison would be an apposite moniker for me for here on.

Actually, I’ve just done a quick analysis of the results and, because Leg 1 is relatively brief, even if I’d ran a blinder I would have done extremely well to have gained the Glums 2 places overall: I could probably have bumped us up to 12th if I’d been ‘on form’. running is for fun for most anyway, so guilt has no place and I’m certainly not beating myself up!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

