The Hump Part I

I’m just about the start my taper: wahay! Standard practice for marathon prep is a 3-week ‘taper’; ie keep up the running, but nothing overly long or arduous. Training conditions the body and legs, but also tires them, so doing anything too tough in the ‘run up’ to a race will do more harm than good.

‘Part I’ for me, today was the Loch Leven Half Marathon. We had good conditions – not too hot, dry when I was running anyway (not sure about later), and light winds. Despite my heavy previous week, I managed 1:31:22 ‘chip time’ and came 59th out of 532 finishers. I hope this means my legs and body are well conditioned for 3 weeks’ time.

Now I’ve off to bed so I can get up at 4:00 for Part II, the Etape Caledonia.

Please don’t forget why I’m blogging:
http://www.justgiving.com/excellentlondonmarathon

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

